Tudor House is one of Weymouth’s treasured Tudor buildings and thought to have been a merchant’s property. It originally fronted an inlet from the main harbour, allowing ships to be moored alongside. Its original use came to an end with the filling in of the inlet in the late 18th century. The building remained as two small houses, which eventually became derelict having been empty during the Second World War and suffered bomb damage.
In the 1950’s a local architect acquired the property and restored it to a single dwelling, which he furnished in the style of an early seventeenth century home of a middle class family. By the architect’s will the house became the property of Weymouth Civic Society and its future as a show piece of Weymouth’s past was assured. A tour of the house gives a fascinating insight into the life of the times during the heyday of Weymouth as a port for trade and exploration. Guides describe the domestic daily life of the times, including furniture and clothing, cooking and serving of food, lighting and candle making. A visit will provide a starting point for the study of our local history.
Do look at our website weymouthcivicsociety.org/tudorho.html for latest information.
The tour can be adapted to topics in Key Stage 2 of the National Curriculum for study of Tudor and Stuart times.
|Toilets for Wheelchair Users|
|Wheelchair Accessability||Ground floor only|
|Facilities for the Blind / Visually Impaired|
3 Trinity Street